top of page

Feels no pain- Anneli Tougjas Q and A


One of the best things about the sport of Disc Golf is that it is one of the best and widely spread sports there is. That being said, I got the chance to talk to Team DiscSport thrower and Discmania team writer, Anneli Tougjas from Estonia. She has an awesome story so give it a read and enjoy!

1) What got you into the sport of Disc Golf?

I didn't know much about this game, but a few years ago i got to try this game and i was hooked :) Everyone has a friend who plays, it's a great way to introduce this game to someone who doesn't know anything about it.

2) Who or what inspires you to continue to play?

My biggest inspiration is actually my boyfriend, who will never let me fall apart mentally. Or if I do, then he can fix my mental game pretty quickly! When You have so positive minded person along side of You, then You just don't want to quit.

3) What made you want to go pro?

I think saying "Pro" is too much for me. In Estonia, like 99% of us are amateurs. In my mind Pro is someone who can focus 100% in playing disc golf and trainings. Most of us in here are working on our regular jobs and just trying to find finances to play.

4) What is it like to be sponsored?

Right now i'm on the Team DiscSport Estonia and Discmania Media team. It saves a lot of money sometimes. Even if it's just some new discs or clothes. Team is always behind You and they can help you to raise some money if needed.

5) What is it like to be on Team Discmania?

Being part of a Discmania Media team this year is a great opportunity, because my goal is to be in a Team Discmania. Media Team is awesome, because we can try some new discs and it's a opportunity to show us in a bright side hopefully.

6) Favorite Disc?

Innova Glow Gator for approaches and Discmania DDx off the tee.

7) Favorite Course?

Kõrvemaa Disc Golf park

8) What can we expect from you in 2018?

This year is going to be super busy. Going to Sula in June and then saving all my money for USWDGC. This year my goal is to play more stable game. I don't want to think of any podium places, just want to enjoy the game and play good disc golf.

9) What is like to be a media sponsor? What roles do you play?

Me and Robi are Estonia media partners. It means that we test new Discmania discs and make reviews. Of course we are planning to do some other videos too, not just flying discs :) There are other elements besides throwing a disc. You have to have a strong body, so we try to show that side too.

10) What has been your favorite memory in Disc Golf so far?

My favourite and brightest moment was definately Estonian Winter Championships 2017. It was my first year of competing. My PDGA rating was so low, that i even couldn't register, but i got a wildcard and fighted til the end and got 3rd place. I loved that moment... Also Estonia National FPO doubles. Managed to take home 1st place and proud of it!

11) What do you think you do to help grow the sport?

We are already doing weekly's in our local course and of course it's always fun to teach someone to play :) I'm also trying to be active in social media. It's a great way to introduce the sport and show that fun side also.

12) What advice could you give someone who wants to step up their game?

You have to train even when you don't want to and train those things that you hate the most. I feel like this has improved my game so much. These hard trainings are improving Your mental game.

13) Is there anything else you’d like people to know about you that they may not?

I have a really high pain tolerance. I was a long-distance runner and i broke both of my ankles because of that. Sometimes I don't know when something is broken.

I would like to thank Anneli for taking the time out of her day to answer my questions and for letting me ask her these questions in general. Look out for her writing on Discmania and if you want to know more about her you can follow her Instagram @annelitougjas. Look out for more coming soon!

Pictured credit goes to Anneli Tougjas


bottom of page