top of page

Cupcake- Jacob Courtis Q and A


The Disc Golf scene is filled with individuals who range in age. The most common age seems to be from 20- to the mid 30's. The game is mostly that age because people of that age can go about their professional career on their own and can travel without concern. But, there is one individual player who is rising in the ranks of Disc Golf and is only 14 years old. This one player is Jacob "Cupcake" Courtis. I got the pleasure of asking Jacob some questions and seeing what he was all about. Enjoy!

1) How did you get your start in Disc golf?

I got started into disc golf from one of my uncles. My dad wanted to go play ball golf with him and he said let's play disc golf so my dad just went out one day with them to the course and I led to get discs and so on.

2) Where did the nickname "Cupcake" come from?

I got the name cupcake from Paul McBeth in 2014 at the amateur World Championships. I got the name by a photo he took and he just hashtag it #whomentionedcupcake and I just stuck with the name.

3) How did your 2017 season go?

My 2017 season went pretty well a shot consistent 960 rated rounds up to 1014 rated rounds.

4) What are your goals for 2018?

My goal for 2018 is I get out to as many tournaments as I can and play my game not focus on any other players.

5) Whats it like to be sponsored by Innova?

Being sponsored by a Nova is really cool because I can interact with all my teammates and go to player parties and it's just a different vibe with different companies.

6) Favorite Disc?

S line pd.

7) Favorite Course?

Winthrop University (usdgc).

8) Who did you or do you look up to in the Disc Golf community?

I looked up to Paul McBeth and Anthony barela in the disc golf community.

9) Any advice for young players who are trying to rise up in the ranks like yourself?

Start off with slower discs that fly straight then work your way up to faster stuff.

10) Anything else you would like people to know about you that they may not?

I'm only 14 years old. I'd like to thank my sponsors Innova Champion discs, West Coast disc golf, Supreme flight, funky zipper pulls, grip equipment

I would like to thank Jacob Courtis for letting me interview him and ask him these questions. If you want to know more about Jacob, follow him on all forms of social media. Look out for more interviews coming soon!

Picture Credit goes to innovadiscs.com


bottom of page